?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous 10 | Next 10

Jan. 2nd, 2006

mouse

jen_deben

Let's go hunting for fresh meat! :-P

Hello? (echo, echo, echo...)

So we all know that RealReview is dying a bit of a slow death here from lack of involvement. All the site really needs is some new members, and the only way to get that is to advertise.

So, might I ask all of you who still read here to advertise RealReview on your own personal LJs, and ask your F-list to drop by and check out the site? This can be super-casual; all we really want is for people to click in and have a look around. Those interested in getting involved will do so, and those who aren't will wander away again with no permanent injuries. :-)

I plan to do this myself, and am listing the message that I'll be posting for my flist below. Anyone who wants to steal this bit of text is welcome to do so - the more people who advertise, the healthier RealReview will be!

Cheers,
Jen


Hi F-list!

There's an LJ community called realreview that needs you! Particularly if you love Harry Potter fanfiction and especially if you love voicing your opinion! :-D

realreview is a community that gives (as the name implies) "real" reviews. Writers post their Harry Potter fanfiction there, and the community members give them a polite but honest assessment of the work with suggestions for how to improve it. The point of the community is to provide construction criticism to writers in order to help them improve. It's a great idea, and I've enjoyed being involved in it.

If you have a fanfic that you'd like a few objective opinions on, or if you just like helping fellow writers to improve their skills, then please consider clicking through to realreview. Have a look around, read a few stories and maybe leave a comment or two. If you like the look of the place, then please friend realreview! The community is too quiet for its own good right now, and really could use your input.

Thanks for your attention, and I hope to see you at realreview!
Heart shadow hand

lilian_cho

"Dragon Dreams" (H/D, PG-13)

ETA 02/01/06: here is the fic after its metamorphoses.

Title:"Dragon Dreams"
Author: lilian_cho
Beta: rea_saint
Genre: Humor, romance
Audience: [Almost Anyone]
Pairing: H/D
Warnings: fluff with delusions of grandeur (such as demanding to be an AU!Book Two through Seven)
Length/Complete?: 2263 words, one-shot
Summary: A Harry Potter adaptation of "Sleeping Beauty," featuring godfather!Snape, turbanned!Voldemort, dragon-rider!Draco and designated!savior!Harry.

Dragon DreamsCollapse )

*******

Resources and Additional NotesCollapse )

Dec. 30th, 2005

(misc) colors

julie_weasley

Forest Green

Hello, everyone! I'm new here; my name is Juliana, I'm 17 year-old Brazillian and, therefore, English is not my first language. :)

Thank you for the attention and everything - and Happy New Year!



Title: Forest Green
Author: julie_weasley
Genre: Drama
Audience: [Anyone]
Pairing: Harry/Ginny
Warnings: post-HBP, but no major spoilers.
Length/Complete?: One-shot, 344 words, complete.
Summary: Ginny's words for Harry.

Forest GreenCollapse )

Dec. 12th, 2005

hp draco

lostrocket

Malachite; Draco-centric; PG

Title: Malachite
Author: lostrocket
Genre: Drama
Audience: Most People (PG)
Characters: Draco Malfoy, Severus Snape
Warnings: Post-HBP and any possible spoilers that implies
Length/Complete: 2,304 words (complete)
Summary: or, excuse for poetry:

When does a life bend toward freedom?     grasp its direction?
How do you know you’re not circling in pale dreams, nostalgia, stagnation
but entering that deep current     malachite, colorado
requiring all your strength wherever found
Adrienne Rich, “Inscription Two: Movement”


MalachiteCollapse )

Dec. 10th, 2005

view

eryn_

Admin: searching for new mods

Is there anyone out there who wants to be a moderator for this group?

I am nearly done with a year of moderating and would like to find a replacement. jen_deben? You've written most of the reviews lately, did you want to be more official? That's how I started choosing new moderators, demonstrated interest. But I've also received email from all the other moderators that they're tired/busy/overwhelmed. That means we'll need more than one new person, or that one person might be overwhelmed and get burned out in under a year like I did.

If you value this group and want to help, please email the moderators (realreview @ gmail.com) or me. If you don't have time to help, do you have something to post? Can you review the story that was just posted? I say this on almost every missive, but please participate. If you have an idea you think would help generate interest in the group, speak up.
Tags:

Dec. 9th, 2005

random: kitty pattz

flyingspatulas

Glimpses

Title: Glimpses
Author: Gwendolyn James
Genre: Drama/Angst
Audience: Most People
Pairing: Some Harry/Ginny
Warning: Character Death
Length/Complete: 1202, Yes
Summary: A hand on my arm. A gentle voice coming from somewhere... somewhere beyond my reach...

GlimpsesCollapse )

Nov. 4th, 2005

Tonks

millieweasley

Casualties of War - chapter 2 - The Beginning - Hermione/Blaise - PG-13

Image hosted by Photobucket.com

Title: Casualties of war – chapter 2 – The Beginning
Author: millieweasley
Genre: Romance, drama
Audience: Most People (PG-13)
Pairing/Character: Hermione/Blaise
Disclaimer: If I owned Harry Potter, would I then post this here?
Lenght/Complete: 3372 words(this part), not complete.
Summary: A war has many casualties and Hermione has lost more than most. Years on the run from Voldemort and his followers has taken it’s toll, but is she strong enough to stop to rest, to trust, to learn to love again?
Links: Chapter 1

A/N: Written in response to monthly challenge number six on Mugglenet fanfiction. The promt said: The purpose of this prompt is to see how well you're able to write a good story with a ship you don't necessarily support. That means that your couple needs to be together for the story, and be together willingly. No Imperio'ing characters to get them together. Write them well, write them as IC as possible, and make the story as believable as possible.

The BeginningCollapse )

Oct. 25th, 2005

view

eryn_

Admin: status

Thank you to all the people who have posted stories recently. Please do review them if you haven't already. The group only exists through everyone's participation. Thanks for all of you who have reviewed, the authors appreciate it and it makes the group more enjoyable for us all.

If you missed our own challenge, please consider writing something. Posting requirements were relaxed for challenge submissions and that wasn't enough incentive to talk about something strange in the wizarding world?
And finally, if anyone has a suggestion on what we can do to increase interest in the group, please share it.

Our one-year anniversary is coming at the end of the year. In honor of that, I plan to pass the torch to someone else. I still think realreview is a terrific idea, but I am not the person to continually promote it and ask people to submit and remind people to review. This group takes a hands-on approach to reassure people that even the less glowing reviews are not meant unkindly and someone must stand in guarantee of good behavior. When I started, I promised people that I would pull any flames and even if someone panned the work, it would never be a personal attack. People responded to that and we have been a success. However it is not a role for any one person indefinitely. Hopefully the advance notice will smooth the transition.
Tags: ,

Oct. 24th, 2005

Draco b/w

cutecoati

Borrowed Time

Title: Borrowed Time
Author: cutecoati
Genre: Drama, angst
Audience: [Almost Anyone]
Pairing: Draco, post H/D
Warnings: Previous character death. And I rated it R, due to the use of the f*** word.
Length/Complete?: 4840 words, complete
Summary: Draco tries to cope with the loss of Harry. Written for wizard_trauma’s Ficathon, challenge: Character A deals with the loss of a spouse/significant other.

Borrowed TimeCollapse )

Oct. 22nd, 2005

Tonks

millieweasley

Casualties of War - chapter 1 - The End - Hermione/Blaise - PG-13

Title: Casualties of war - The End (1/3?)
Author: millieweasley
Genre: Romance, drama
Audience: Most People (PG-13)
Pairing/Character: Hermione/Blaise
Disclaimer: If I owned Harry Potter, would I then post this here?
Lenght/Complete: 5397 (this part), not complete.
Summary: A war has many casualties and Hermione has lost more than most. Years on the run from Voldemort and his followers has taken it’s toll, but is she strong enough to stop to rest, to trust, to learn to love again?

A/N: Written in response to monthly challenge number six on Mugglenet fanfiction. The promt said: The purpose of this prompt is to see how well you're able to write a good story with a ship you don't necessarily support. That means that your couple needs to be together for the story, and be together willingly. No Imperio'ing characters to get them together. Write them well, write them as IC as possible, and make the story as believable as possible.

The EndCollapse )

Previous 10 | Next 10